EXCLUSIVE – 2020 SA SUPER LEAGUE – First SIX Retained Players

by BowlsSA2 on August 1, 2020

The 2020 SA Super League continues to build and today the SIX retained players for each of the eight SA Super League franchises have been locked in from last year’s teams.


With the SA Super League franchise licences now being obtained by Member clubs, each club holding a franchise licence recruited and appointed members to form a steering committee to manage the affairs of each franchise from the top down. These committees have been in lengthy and deep discussions with their coaching panels around who they will retain and who they believe they can sign, come free agency and draft time.


Scott Hocking will be leading the below 6 through the 2020 SA Super League;

  • Scott Thulborn
  • Cassandra Harvey
  • Grace Moloney
  • James Gregory
  • Josh Chopin
  • Tim Hicks

Wilson Golby’s Western Rogues have opted for the below 6 players;

  • Josh Studham
  • Carl Schapel
  • Cath Greenslade
  • Gabe Nardecchia
  • Simon Geater-Johnson
  • Kate Argent-Bowden

Mark Denton retaining some youth in his side thus far and managing a wealth of experience, retaining the below 6 players;

  • Dylan Lewis
  • Marc Evans
  • Sam Dietrich
  • Sam Denton
  • Chris Thulborn
  • Les Carter

The Mallee Pirates, John Morris coming into his third year as coach retaining the below 6 players;

  • Jeff Davis
  • Simon Dorr
  • Adam Forbes
  • Gary Meekoms
  • Rachel Krebbekx
  • Vicki Degenhardt

Geoff Brand from Laura remaining in the Head Coach role has elected the below 6 players for retainment;

  • Luke Pietersma
  • Bernie Ward
  • Kane Coulls
  • Jack Trenorden
  • Rhys Taylor
  • Will McPharlin

Richard Law will lead the Eastern Raiders for 2020 with the below retained players;

  • Craig Goldfinch
  • Michael Lodge
  • Mitch Percy
  • Chris Flavel
  • Tony Treloar
  • Vicki Arbon

Ken Holtham in his first year as coach has selected for the belwo 6 players for retainment;

  • Tony Devlin
  • Jodi Kotz
  • Tyson Wilson
  • Nathan Black
  • Aaron Bremner
  • Jackie Field

The Central Chargers newly appointed Coach in TJ Saunders has opted for the below 6 players in his first moves as coach;

  • Mark Haines
  • Ben Bowman
  • Craig Mills
  • Wayne Ruediger
  • Fergus Rowntree
  • Karen Gatto


Each franchise will now work to secure the best available Free Agency talent, with the ability to sign up to three players throughout the next week. Signings will be announced on Monday August 10th.

Click here to see the list of Free Agent players.


From there, each franchise will look to finish its squad off by picking the best available talent in the SA Super League draft to be held on Wednesday August 12th. All players not signed as Free agents will also be added to the draft nominations list after the Free Agency period close.

Click here to see the current list of draft applicants


Key Upcoming 2020 SA Super League dates:

August 3rd – 9th – Free agency period

August 8 & 9 – Draft trials

August 12 – 2020 SA Super League draft

October 16 – 2020 SA Super League Round 1


Keep visiting the Bowls SA website and Facebook page for updates as they happen.