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Frequently Asked Questions around Bowls Clubs 
 
 

 

QUESTION LAW/RULE 

1. In Pennant when 3 v 4 players who carries the card? Who signs it? 

Answer: The skips do, you must make sure that the duties are transferred to players 
whose positions, in order of play, are the same in each team. A player required to 
keep the card under these circumstances cannot refuse to do so. As per duties, 
whoever carries the scorecard signs the card at the end of the game. 

Law 40.1.9, DR 3.2 
and CoP 25.2 

2. Can I just have one sticker on my bowls? The large ring? 

Answer: No, you must have two stickers, one layer either side. 

Law 52.1.8 

3. In pennant can a team mate use the other two bowls of my set of bowls? 

Answer: Yes they can, because all bowls come from the same complete set of four 
bowls. 

Definition D3, Law 
52.1.9 

4. Can clubs play music during a pennant game? 

Answer: Yes, provided the level of sound does not impinge upon the conduct of any 
pennant games. 

CoP 54.1 

5. What happens if a player plays out of turn during a team game? Laws 29.1.1, 
29.1.2. 29.1.2.1 or 

Answer: The opposing skip can stop the bowl and return it. If the head is not 29.1.2.2 

disturbed the bowl can be returned to the player or left on the green and the opposing 
player plays two bowls in a row to restore the correct order. 

 
If the head is disturbed the opposing skip can decide to either leave the disturbed 
head then his team play two bowls, or restore the head to its former position and 
return the bowl or declare the end dead. 

 
29.1.3.1 or 29.1.3.2 
or 29.1.3.3 

6. How do I find out how what a legal ditch should look like? 

 
Answer: Appendix B, World Bowls, Laws of the Sport Crystal Mark 3rd Edition. 

Page 101 
Law 47 

7. What happens if during a game, players realise the boundary peg is in the 
wrong position? 

 
Answer: If a player or the Umpire finds a boundary peg in the wrong position, the peg 
cannot be moved until the end is completed on the rinks effected. The peg must be 
put in the correct position by the Umpire or by agreement of the skips or opponents in 
singles. 

Law 49.8 
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8. If I played 6 games in Division 1 and 5 games in Division 3 have I qualified to 
play in both finals? 

 
Answer: Yes. You played more than four games in the higher numbered Side (Side 1) 
and played four or more games in a lower numbered Side (Side 3). 

CoP 22.2 

9. Can a playing coach give instructions across the green? 

 
Answer: No they cannot. Instruction must occur on the bank when the side has 
possession of the rink and does so from outside the boundaries of the green. 

Laws 44.3 and 
44.4 

10. The Jack has not been centred and a bowl has been delivered. Can you centre 
the jack? 

 
Answer: No, after the first player to play has delivered the first bowl, no one has the 
right to challenge the legality of the original position of the jack. The jack remains 
there until the completion of that end. 

Law 9.7 

11. The game has commenced and the mat has been placed off the centre line. 
What should happen? 

 
Answer: If at any stage the mat is off the centre line it must be moved to that line. 

Law 6.2.3. 

12. Can players proceed down the green while a bowl is in course? 

 
Answer: The player who has delivered the bowl has possession of the rink and 
should have the benefit of observing the progress of their bowl without being 
obstructed by players who may be moving down the green in front of them. The first 
time it happens the Umpire would warn the player. If the player offended again the last 
bowl played by that player or team would be declared dead. 

Law 12 and 13 
Penalty: Law 
13.3.1 

13. Where can I stand at the head of the bowls? 

 
Answer: If you are not in possession of the rink then behind the jack and away from 
the head and on the bank if the jack in the ditch. If you are in possession of the rink 
behind the jack. 

Law 12.1.2.2 and 
Law 12.1.2.3 

14. When an umpire is measuring for shot where can the players stand? 

 
Answer: Players should stand away from the head, well clear of the measure, be 
aware of shadows and preferably on the bank while the measure is undertaken. 
Players do not have to stand on the bank unless the bowl or jack were close to or in 
the ditch. 

Law 12.1.2.2 

15. What measurements are required to be on the edge of the banks of a green? 

 
Answer: Appendix B.4, World Bowls, Laws of the Sport Crystal Mark 3rd Edition. 

Page 105 
App B4 
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16. Can I turn the mat over at any time to play my bowls? 

 
Answer: Yes. To get a better grip, you can turn the mat over and but you must put it 
back in its original position. 

Law 6.2.6 

17. I had to leave the green because I felt sick. Ten minutes went by- I 

wasn’t feeling well enough to return at that time. What happens? Can I 

come back later? 

 
Answer: A substitute can be used, but not as Skip, if not then in a side game a team 
can play short of a player, Yes and when the constituted player is able to return they 
must take their original place at the start of the next end. 

Law 33.2, 33.4 and 
DR 2.4, 2.6 

18. Can a pennant side still wait 30 minutes to commence a game if they wish? 

 
Answer: Yes it is still permissible to wait 30 minutes after the scheduled time for a 
game. 

Law 39.2.2 DR 2.6 

19. If I am at the head can I use my fingers to guesstimate the distances between 

bowls ? 

 
Answer: Yes you can. No official equipment can be placed between the jack and bowl 
before the end is completed. Therefore the cross fingers used by the players is 
perfectly legitimate, as it is purely an estimate (although a pretty good one) that is 
conducted above the head and not between the two objects. However mats, lifters or 
feet shouldn’t be placed between bowl and jack as a displacement could occur. 

Law 23.3 

20. Who is responsible that all members of a pennant side are correctly attired? 
Are there any penalties for incorrect attire? 

 
Answer: The Club President is responsible to ensure that members of the club are 
wearing correct attire. If a formal complaint is made by an opposing club then it would 
be investigated under BSA Rule 1.3.2 which could result in a fine, loss of points or 
forfeiture of the Match. 

CoP 12.1 
Penalty CoP 12.7 

21. What is the difference between a stoppage of play and an interruption to 
play? 

 
Answer: A stoppage of play is something that is determined by the controlling body, 
umpire after appeal by players or an agreement amongst players if no controlling body 
or umpire is present. 

 
The game can be continued on the same day or another day. Incomplete ends 
must be declared dead. Interruption to play: 

 
If a player or a group of players (on their own undertaking) decide to come off the 
green for whatever reason (for example, not wanting to get wet, lightning, or to get 
wet weather gear), and the stoppage is not invoked by Law 32 then play continues 
when players return to the green. Uncompleted ends are not to be declared dead. 
Common sense should prevail however, the umpire or controlling body can direct 
players to return to the game. If there is lightning play is suspended immediately. 

Law 32 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
CoP 50.4 
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22. How do I know if the equipment used in our umpire’s box is approved or not? 

 
Answer: The umpire must bring, or be provided with by the club on whose green the 
game is being played. The equipment must be suitable for the umpire to carry out their 
duties as described in law 43. 

Law 54 
Refer Chapter 6, 
Officiating Manual, 
2014. BA Pg 54 

23. I am the umpire of the day during a pennant match at my club and I am called 
to measure a shot on the rink I am actually playing on. What should happen? 

 
Answer: The umpire is impartial and as you are the umpire of the day you must 
measure any disputed shot or shots using the appropriate equipment. In this situation, 
and in the spirit of fairness, some umpires call for the opposition third to observe – 
however this is not necessary. 

 
 

 
Law 43.2.2 

 


