State Triples Winners Crowned for season 2020/21

by BowlsSA1 on May 8, 2021

Saturday 8 May saw the final State Event for the 20/21 season come to wrap.

Eight teams in the Men and Women, flocked to the Grange Bowling Club to battle it out to se who would be crowned State Triples Winner for 2020/21.

In the Final 8 matches saw some close matches being battled out in the coolish conditions. With the teams of Treloar (Berri), Dietrich (West Lakes), Packer (Hawthorn) and Castiglia (Yorketown) progressing on the Men side. While the ladies teams of McGorman (Adelaide), Dennis (Port Broughton), Robinson (Wallaroo) and McGrath (Brighton) progressing to the Semi Finals.

The Semi Finals was some hotly contested games in both the Men and Women games.

The game between McGorman and Robinson saw the team of McGorman jump out to an early 25-5 lead after 10 ends. From that point the Wallaroo team of Robinson picked up 18 shots in 6 ends to go into the last two ends only 2 shots down. The last two ends could have been anybody’s with McGorman’s team picking up 2 shots to win 27-23 in a great game. While the other ladies semi final between Dennis and McGrath saw the Port Broughton team jump out to an early lead after 10 ends. From there McGrath team pulled in Dennis’ team to take the win 21-16.

While in the Men’s Semi, Packer’s team took on the Yorketown team. The Hawthorn team jumped out to a 9-1 lead after 7 ends. From that point, Castiglia and his team reeled the Hawthorn team back in to be down by 1 after 11 ends. From the 12th end the Hawthorn boys put their foot down to win 16-10. The other Semi saw the team from Berri take on Dietrich’s team. The game went point for ploint most of the game with Dietrich’s team taking the win 21-13.

From 4 fatastic Semi Final matches came two on the edge of your seat Final’s matches. Packer vs Dietrich was a great game of big shots and fantastic draw bowling from all 6 players. The game could have been won by either team, but the team of Aaron Bremner, Sam Denton and Sam Dietrich took the win over the Hawthorn team of Jim Bell, Dennis Crawley and Steven Packer.

Well done to all the teams that made it to the final 8 matches. To see all the scores click here.

While the ladies final was shot for shot from the start to about the halfway mark, when the team of Karen Gatto, Bailey Raferty and Laini McGorman put on the afterburners to be crowned champions over the team of Carli Mitchel, Tammy Butt and Patria McGrath.

Congratulations to all the teams that played today. To see all the scores click here.

Thank you to the Grange Bowling Club for hosting today’s games, the Umpires and Volunteers for all your help and to the Bowls SA Sponsors; West End, MGA Insurance Group and ANZ.