State Secondary School championships

by admin on May 3, 2018

Following inclement weather across South Australia on Thursday, there unfortunately had to be adjustments to the schedule for the 2018 Secondary School Championships. The singles event was unable to be played on the scheduled date and ultimately we will look to replay that event in the future. Thankfully the Novar Gardens club came to the fore and made their facilities available last minute so that  the triples event could continue on their synthetic green. 
24 Triples teams entered the field, representing 6 different schools in Urrbrae Agriculture High School, Cardijn College, Eastern Fleurieu High School, Mount Compass Area School, Wilderness School & Kangaroo Island Community School. Teams played 3 sectional games in the morning to decide the afternoons knockout quarter finalists.The sportsmanship, skill level and positive approach from all teams should be commended and it was a great display of Lawn Bowls. 
Following the sectional play our quarter finalists headed into the knockout stages where after the semi finals and medal matches ,we ultimately crowned our Secondary School triples champions for 2018. Eastern Fleurieu, Wilderness & Urrbrae all had teams represented in the medal matches and it was the team from Urrbrae that grabbed the gold medal, with Wilderness in silver, Urrbrae in bronze and Eastern Fleurieu rounding out the top four. 
A big thank you must go to Novar Gardens Bowling Club for hosting but in addition the clubs that run school sessions with these schools in order to get them onto the championships. Port Noarlunga, Hawthorn, Payneham, Mount Compass & Strathalbyn are some of said clubs. If your club wants to start school sessions but aren’t sure where to begin, please email to discuss further.

Full results from the finals are:

Quarter Finals:
Dylan Mcfee, Nicky Bell & Jack Hopkins (Eastern Fleurieu) 2 def by Jack, Jim & Paul (Urrbrae) 6
Reema Madke, Victorias Moularadellis, Grace Moloney (Wilderness) 6 def Daniel Kropp, Jaspar Prusa, Josh Boundy (Eastern Fleurieu) 4
Lenny Charles-Biggs, Riley Semovic, Kade Brown (Eastern Fleurieu) 6 def Jaxon Machin, Josh Mumford (Kangaroo Island Community), Tom Ryan (Eastern Fleurieu) 1
Lachy, Cory, Joe (Urrbrae) 5 def Liam Stirling, Jackson Dalitz & Noah Harrison (Eastern Fleurieu) 3

Semi Finals:
 Jack, Jim & Paul (Urrbrae) 2 def by Reema Madke, Victorias Moularadellis, Grace Moloney (Wilderness) 7

Lenny Charles-Biggs, Riley Semovic, Kade Brown (Eastern Fleurieu) 5 def by Lachy, Cory, Joe (Urrbrae) 8

Gold Medal: 
Reema Madke, Victorias Moularadellis, Grace Moloney (Wilderness) 2 def by Lachy, Cory, Joe (Urrbrae) 7

Bronze medal:
 Jack, Jim & Paul (Urrbrae) 3 def Lenny Charles-Biggs, Riley Semovic, Kade Brown (Eastern Fleurieu) 2

Thankyou to all those who participated and we look forward to a successful 2019 event.

Bowls SA is pleased to announce the draw and schedule for the State Secondary School championships. The event will be held at Club Holdfast on Friday May 4th, beginning at 10am. 
The event is a great opportunity for schools who have been introduced to bowls through their local clubs, to come together and play in a structured competition against other schools. 
Schools have the opportunity to enter teams into the singles or triples competitions and vie for the title of state school champions. This year the event will see 14 different schools represented, with 13 singles entrants and 25 triples teams.
Please click here for the draw
Please click here for the conditions of play