State Para-Disability and State Intellectual Disability Squads Announced

by Marketing on August 10, 2021

Bowls SA has selected its first ever State Para-Disability and State Intellectual Disability squads following trials last weekend.

The trials were held at the Clearview Bowling Club, with a strong turnout in attendance.

12 players have been selected in the Para-Disability squad, while five have been named in the Intellectual Disability squad, with a development squad of four also selected.

In an exciting move, Anthony Exton has been appointed State Intellectual Disability coach, while the search is on for a coach to lead the State Para-Disability squad.

Anyone interested in volunteering with the two squads is encouraged to call Bowls Australia Participation and Programs Manager, based in South Australia, James Wilson on 0437 527 161.

The squads will come together and work towards the next possible opportunity to represent South Australia.

Bowls SA is also looking to expand in the future towards having State teams in the Vision and Hearing-Impaired spaces.

Para-Disability Squad

Men’s B5/B6
Liam Buckley (Angaston)

Darryl Willson (Tranmere)

Maurice Corcoran (Semaphore)

Men’s B7/B8

John Swarbrick (Pt Noarlunga)

Chris Yeardley (Morphett Vale)

Bruce Westley (Arthurton)

Steven Howe (Keith)

Aaron Emonson (Millicent)

Wes Street (Club TBC)

Chris Flavel (Lockleys)

Michael Emberton (Edwardstown)

Women’s B7/B8

Vanessa Wildy (Pt Noarlunga)

Intellectual Disability Squad

Jarrad Olsen (Balaklava)

Lachlan Wurst (Saddleworth)

David Lawn (Reynella)

Matthew Ainsworth (Pt Noarlunga)

Lukasz Wojniak (Club TBC)

Intellectual Disability Development Squad

Seb Todd (Christies Beach)

David Brooks (Christies Beach)

James Hobbs (Club TBC)

Stuart Lee (Brighton)