South Australia vs Victoria selected Test Teams

by BowlsSA2 on January 12, 2020

Following a number of trials, the South Australian state selectors are pleased to announce the selected Men’s, Women’s & Under 18 teams for the annual series against Victoria. This year the series will be back on local soil with the wonderful McLaren Vale Bowling Club set to host the event from January 14-16.

The Men & Women will play a five test series for the Loy Carroll & Mulga Cup respectively, whilst the Under 18’s will play a three test series under a multi discipline format for their respective shields.  South Australia currently hold the Loy Carroll Men’s shield and will be looking to retain this as well wrestle some of the silverware back off Victoria.

These series provide invaluable match practice for all squads ahead of The Nationals 2020.

All bowlers, family and friends are welcome to attend the event with Free entry. The McLaren Vale Bowling Club will have food and beverages available throughout inclusive of dinner on Tuesday Night (Bookings essential). To view the daily menu please click here. To view Tuesday’s dinner menu or details on how to book, please click here.


Full details:

Venue: McLaren Vale Bowling Club; 147-149 Main Road, McLaren Vale, SA



Men’s & Women’s Series

Tuesday January 14th, 1pm (Test 1) & 5pm (Test 2)
Wednesday January 15th, 10am (Test 3) & 2:30pm (Test 4)
Thursday January 16th, 9am (Test 5)

Under 18 Series

Tuesday January 14th 1pm
Tuesday January 14th 4:30pm
Wednesday January 15th 10:00am
Wednesday January 15th 1:00pm
Wednesday January 15th 3:30pm
Thursday January 16th 9:00am

South Australian Selected teams:

Men’s Senior Team


Josh Chopin

(West Lakes)

Marc Evans
Mitchell Percy (Payneham)
Second Carl Schapel (Grange)

Nathan Black

(West Lakes)

Simon Geater-Johnson

(Holdfast Bay)

Third Josh Studham (Holdfast Bay)

Tyson Wilson


Mark Haines
(West Lakes)
Skip Wayne Ruediger (Grange) Craig Mills
(West Lakes)
Nathan Pedersen (Somerton)

Coach: Les Carter

Manager: Paul Craig


Women’s Senior Team

Lead Karen Gatto
(West Lakes)

Kate Argent-Bowden


Grace Moloney


Second Jodi Kotz
Laini McGorman (Payneham)

Karin Lynch



Bailey Rafferty

(West Lakes)

Jackie Field


Cath Greenslade (Riverton)
Skip Renata Callisto (Grange)

Cassandra Harvey


Vicki Arbon

Coach: Tony Lucas

Manager: Sue Maddern


Boys Team


  Lead Second Third Skip
Singles Adam Black (Henley)
Pairs Jackson Saunders (Henley) Danyon Greenslade (Riverton)
Triples Logan Olsen (Port Wakefield) Adam Black (Henley) Corey Hicks (Adelaide)
Fours Jackson Saunders (Henley) Logan Olsen (Port Wakefield) Corey Hicks (Adelaide) Danyon Greenslade (Riverton)


*Matthew Freebairn will also be part of the squad and players will be rotated with each player guaranteed to play at least two tests out of three.

Coach: Matthew Northcott



Girls  Team


  Lead Second Third Skip
Singles Sheridon Bodnar (Henley)
Pairs Lucy Tiller (Balaklava) Sheridon Bodnar (Henley)
Triples Evie Exton (Christies Beach) Kyra Williams (Goolwa) Faith Scholes (Wallaroo)
Fours Evie Exton (Christies Beach) Kyra Williams (Goolwa) Lucy Tiller (Balaklava) Faith Scholes (Wallaroo)


Coach: Cassandra Harvey

Manager: TBC


*Please note it is planned to swap some player positions at various stages throughout the series.


Victoria Selected teams:

Representing Victoria for the Men’s Open Side:

Lead Second Third Skip
John McCarron
Leigh McIlvenny
Ryan Tainton
Matt Flapper
(Ocean Grove)
James Pearce
(Deer Park)
Dane McKinnon
Jay Bye-Norris
Lee Schraner
(Bendigo East)
Curtis Hanley
Ben Loughlin
Brett Spurr
(Deer Park)
Nathan Wilson


Representing Victoria for the Women’s Open Side:

Lead Second Third Skip
Blaine Edwards
Vicki Smith
Jess Wallace
Carla Krizanic
Mikayla Long
Anita Jenkins
Stacey Collier
(East Shepparton)
Lisa Phillips
(Caulfield Park)
Claire Sanders
Tristania Doolan
Anne Draffen
Anne Miles


Representing Victoria for the Under 18 Boys:
Koby Cromie – Yarrawonga
Ethan Fruend – Wangaratta
Cameron Keenan – Kangaroo Flat
Bailey Leask – Shepparton East
Liam Turner – Bundoora RSL

Representing Victoria for the Under 18 Girls:

Amity Bickley – Dandenong Club
Olivia Cartwright – Kyabram
Alana Flapper – Essendon
Sophie Kurzman – Sunbury
Jordyn Long – Glenroy

Men’s Staff:
Coach – Ian Ewing (Brunswick)
Manager – Pat Clark (Rosamond)
Selector – Matt Robertson (Tallygaroopna)

Women’s Staff:
Coach – Judy Davey (Bendigo East)
Manager – Patty Whorlow (Blackburn)

U18 Staff:
Coach – Matt Flapper (Ocean Grove)
Assistant Coach – Anthony Flapper (Essendon)
Manager – Justine Stokes (Melbourne)


Good luck to all selected players and teams. We hope to have plenty of support for our South Australian players at the event. See you there!