SA Super League Andrew Smith Medal

by BowlsSA1 on September 22, 2019

The SA Super League Andrew Smith Medal count was held this morning before the u/21 SA Super League Grand Final.

The room was filled with anticipation to see who will be crowned the Best and Fairest for 2019 and take home the Andrew Smith Medal.

Early front runners for the award were defending winner for 2018 Nathan Black of the South Eastern Spartans and his teammate Tyson Wilson. Also in the mix of the early favorites was Central Chargers player Craig Mills and Heysen Comets player Ashley Halls.
After 2 rounds, Tony Treloar of the Eastern Raiders was in the lead on 9 votes, with 4 players behind on 8 votes.

After 5 rounds we saw a new player hit the top of the leader board in Cameron Dickson from the Eastern Raiders also being joined by Craig Mills from the Central Chargers on 20 votes. On 19 votes was Heysen Comets player Stuart Forbes and in equal 4th was Central Charges player Ben Bowman and Mallee Pirates player Simon Dorr on 17 Votes.

Then saw the votes to round out rounds 6 & 7 and to crown the 2019 Andrew Smith Medal.

The Final 10 top leader board finished as follows:

Equal 5th with 17 votes:

  • Simon Dorr, Mallee Pirates
  • Ben Bowman, Central Charges

Equal 4th with 20 votes:

  • Tony Treloar, Eastern Raiders
  • Craig Mills, Central Charges
  • Stuart Forbes, Heyson Comets
  • Sam Dietrich, Southern Blazer
  • Cameron Dickson, Easter Raiders

3rd Position with 21 votes:

  • Nathan Black, South Eastern Spartans

2nd Position with 22 votes:

  • Tyson Wilson, South Eastern Spartans

Winner with 23 votes:

  • Will Mcpharlin, Northern Knights

This was Will’s first year in the SA Super League, being picked up in the draft by the Northern Knights. A member of Port Wakefield, Will was speechless and could not believe he had taken out this year’s Andrew Smith Medal. For full votes from each round and the final leader board, please click here.