‘Metro powerhouse take out day 1 Senior Supa Series’

by BowlsSA2 on September 14, 2020

Copper Coast – Senior Supa Series – Moonta Memorial Park Bowling Club


24 teams from across South Australia made their way to the Moonta Memorial Park Bowling Club on Monday the 14th of September, for the first Senior Supa Series of the 2020/21 season.


Deputy Mayor Councillor Margaret Pope opened the tournament where play was then got underway.


Teams from all around South Australia in attendance, COVID Marshals were in place to ensure a COVID-Safe event was conducted.


Two games of fours and 2 games of pairs gave these players plenty of opportunity to impress with state selectors in attendance.


Game one saw an impressive win by Whelan of Toorak-Burnside defeating metro rival team from Somerton, 22 – 5. Ken Holtham of Marion Bowling Club also securing a win in the first with a tidy 18 – 12.


Game two, had Hahndorf’s Deeble getting the upper hand over Hawthorn 19 – 3. A huge win in the second game saw Lobethal’s Neville Mansell down Ascot Park stalwart Colin Harvey 15 – 3.


Game three saw plenty of close games with Toorak Burnsides John Whelan securing another big win with a 16 – 6 defeat over Shane Neal of the Croydon Bowling Club.


Game four came around too soon for some as there was three, three game winners. All to close for some seeing 2 of those 3 crumbling under pressure.


Third place getters Speed / Robinson / Speed / Smith (LAURA) with 3 wins and 9 points just behind second place getters Fry / Kotz / De Vries / Mansell (LOBETHAL) getting 3 wins, 1 draw and 10 points.

Tournament winner, Houston / Bushell / Halls / Holtham (MARION) with 4 wins and 12 points, said “It was a fantastic day where everyone was enjoying themselves”. Ashley Halls also added that he hopes the next 2 days will be filled with as much joy and spirit.


Today and Wednesday the tournament continues at Wallaroo Bowling Club where we will see further involvement, including the start of BowlsFest here on the Copper Coast.


THIRD –3 wins 9 points – Speed / Robinson / Speed / Smith (LAURA)

SECOND – 3 wins draw 10 points – Fry / Kotz / De Vries / Mansell (LOBETHAL)

WINNER – 4 wins 12 points Houston / Bushell / Halls / Holtham (MARION)