EXCLUSIVE – 2022 SA SUPER LEAGUE – First SIX Retained Players

by BowlsSA1 on July 30, 2021

The 2022 SA Super League continues to build and today the SIX retained players for each of the eight SA Super League franchises have been locked in from last year’s teams.

The franchises had to pick at least one male, one female and one under 18 player as their retained six players.

Steve Hicks will be leading the below 6 through the 2022 SA Super League;

  • James Gregory
  • Josh Chopin
  • Damon Edmunds
  • Andrew Peters
  • Ally Baldock
  • Corey Hicks

First year Coach, Mark Golby has selected the below 6 players for the Western Rogues;

  • Gabe Nardecchia
  • Kate Argent-Bowden
  • Jayden Zeller
  • Bob Scott
  • Evie Exton
  • Harrison Geater-Johnson

Mark Denton retaining the below 5 players*;

  • Dylan Lewis
  • Sam Denton
  • Chris Thulborn
  • Ashley Halls
  • Gavin Pfeiffer

*The Blazers had no under 18 players from their squad last year wanting to particpate in the 2022 SA Super League. The Blazers will now have upto four free agengt picks and will need to pick up an under 18 player during this time.

The Mallee Pirates, John Morris coming into his fourth year as coach retaining the below 6 players;

  • Gary Meekoms
  • Rachel Krebbekx
  • John Nicolai
  • Matthew Jones
  • Jose Gil
  • Cameron Hill

Geoff Brand from Laura remaining in the Head Coach role has elected the below 6 players for retainment;

  • Bernie Ward
  • Jack Trenorden
  • Laini McGorman
  • Sue Coultas
  • Todd Brand
  • Liam Coe

Richard Law will lead the Eastern Raiders for 2022 with the below retained players;

  • Craig Goldfinch
  • Chris Flavel
  • Tony Treloar
  • Neville Mansell
  • Kathy Miller
  • Matthew Armitage

Ken Holtham in his second year as coach has selected for the below 6 players for retainment;

  • Tyson Wilson
  • Nathan Black
  • Aaron Bremner
  • Jackie Field
  • Adam Black
  • Ben Fidock

The Central Chargers,  has opted for the below 6 players;

  • Mark Haines
  • Karen Gatto
  • Bailey Rafferty
  • Yvonne Kelly
  • Brenton Bain
  • Charlie Hicks

Each franchise will now work to secure the best available Free Agency talent, with the ability to sign up to three players throughout the next week. Signings will be announced on Monday August 9th.

Click here to see the list of Free Agent players.

From there, each franchise will look to finish its squad off by picking the best available talent in the SA Super League draft to be held on 1st September. All players not signed as Free agents will also be added to the draft nominations list after the Free Agency period close.

Key Upcoming 2022 SA Super League dates:

31st July to 6th August – Free agency period

August 21 & 22 – Draft trials

September 1 – 2022 SA Super League draft

February 13 – 2022 SA Super League Round 1

Keep visiting the Bowls SA website and Facebook page for updates as they happen.