EXCLUSIVE! 2020 SA Super League Coaching announcements

by BowlsSA2 on July 27, 2020

The 2020 SA Super League continues to build and today the coaching panel for each of the eight SA Super League franchises have been locked in, which is an exciting step in the lead up to the season.


With the SA Super League franchise licences now being obtained by Member clubs, each club holding a franchise licence recruited and appointed members to form a steering committee to manage the affairs of each franchise from the top down.


The first task of each committee was to appoint a head coach and supporting coaching panel to drive the selection, technical improvement, culture and results of their team. Like Malcom Blight, Ron Barassi, Lisa Alexander, Jane Woodlands-Thompson or in bowls circles the great Les Carter, these coaches hope to forge their place in history as having shaped the success of a team and built a dynasty.


There are three new head coaches to the ranks from the 2019 coaching pool with Inaugural South Eastern Spartans Coach Deanna Amos having resigned from her role after two successful seasons at the helm which included a grand final appearance for her squad in the inaugural competition in 2018. Central Chargers kingpin Roy Palmer and assistant Peter Symons both stepped down after one season in which they claimed a premiership for their side – leaving on a high, whilst finally the Western Rogues have parted ways with Brett Baldey after one season.

Making their coaching debut will be Ken Holtham from Marion who will bring a wealth of experience as a current state senior player and state selector when he steps out of a playing role and takes the reigns of the South Eastern Spartans.


Wilson Golby from Club Holdfast has recently transferred from Victoria and will bring high end coaching experience in an attempt to further build the success of the Western Rogues after their debut finals appearance last year, Wilson will be aptly supported by former state player Ashley Klose and Yorke peninsula country stalwart Lloyd Geater-Johnson on the coaching panel.


Finally in a change of focus, expert commentator and media personality TJ Saunders from the Edwardstown club will ply his craft in coaching when he becomes the boss of the Central Chargers, to be ably assisted by Key chargers player and state skipper Craig Mills.


Continuing on from previous seasons will be successful Heysen Comets coach Scott Hocking from Adelaide who will be looking to build on his premiership in 2018 and runner up status in 2019 to be the most successful franchise to date. He will be joined by fellow Adelaide members Steve Hicks and Scott Thulborn on the coaching panel.


The Northern Knights have elected to extend the tenure of Laura member Geoff Brand for a third season as his knowledge and strong communication will guide the franchise in a positive direction. Joining Geoff will be Salisbury member and former state chairman of selectors Geoff Nethercott and key Knights player and former State Skipper Kane Coulls.


The Mallee Pirates John Morris from the Modbury Bowling Club has also been given the green light to continue on for a third year at the helm as he attempts to get the Pirates their first ever finals appearance. John will be assisted by Jose Gil to provide stability and strength in communication to the Pirates Cause.


Richard Law from Payneham will again head up the Eastern Raiders in a completely unchanged coaching panel from the previous season which saw Wayne Lee from Mount Barker and Kristeena Kirchner from Payneham form part of the team that steered it’s Super League team into a preliminary final whilst also guiding their under 21 squad to the Grand Final.


Finally, the Southern Blazers have kept the faith with Ascot Park member Mark Denton in the head coach chair after his debut season which saw him claim the Under 21 premiership and lead a late season resurgence of the Blazers up the Super League table. Denton’s stable has gained a vast of experience with former state representative Riina Bradbrook joining the coaching team alongside Mclaren Vale member Pat Cavallaro.


These coaching panels will now have the important task of firstly selecting six retained players from last year’s squads to be announced this week by Monday August 3rd. From there, they will look to further boost their squad by signing three Free agent players in the ensuing week before casting their eye over draft hopefuls at the Draft Trials to be held on August 8 & 9 at Salisbury Bowling Club. The final piece of preparing their squads for the league will come on draft night Wednesday August 12 where they will select the final players to be part of their squads. From there it will be all systems go in the development of players to ensure they are sharp before Round 1 to be held on Friday October 16.


Want to be part of one these squads as a player? Draft nominations are still open but time is running out! Nominations close this Friday July 31st at 5pm. click on the following link to register:



Want to be involved in coaching or managing a Super League team but not sure how? Show your expression of interest here and you could join the coaching panel or steering committee for one of the franchises of your choosing. They are still looking for motivated volunteers passionate about creating elite sporting teams and can be added to throughout the year. https://www.bowlssa.com.au/2020/06/15/do-you-want-to-help-manage-an-elite-sporting-team/


Upcoming Key 2020 SA Super League dates:

July 31st – Draft Nominations close (5pm)

August 3rd – Retained player announcements

August 3rd – 9th – Free agency period

August 8 & 9 – Draft trials

August 12 – 2020 SA Super League draft

October 16 – 2020 SA Super League Round 1


Keep visiting the Bowls SA website and Facebook page for updates as they happen.


Franchise summary:

South Eastern Spartans

Licence holder: Marion Bowling Club

Current committee members: Peter Castle, Tony Devlin, Mark Tonkin

Coaching Panel: Ken Holtham (Head Coach)

Western Rogues

Licence holder: Club Holdfast

Current committee members: Mark Golby, Sue Allen, Sandy Gaunt, Jarrod Goodwin, Rob Christiansen

Coaching Panel: Wilson Golby (Head Coach), Ashley Klose, Lloyd Geater-Johnson


Northern Knights

Licence holder: Salisbury Bowling Club

Current committee members:  Geoff Ambler, Geoff Nethercott, Rhys Taylor, Tim Miller

Coaching Panel: Geoff Brand (Head Coach), Geoff Nethercott, Kane Coulls

Mallee Pirates

Licence holder: Modbury Bowling Club

Current committee members:  John Morris, Jose Gil, Stephen Leister, Gary Meekoms , David Carter

Coaching Panel: John Morris (Head Coach), Jose Gil

Heysen Comets

Licence holder: Adelaide Bowling Club

Current committee members: Steve Hicks, Scott Hocking, Cassandra Harvey, John Higgins

Coaching Panel: Scott Hocking (Head Coach), Steve Hicks, Scott Thulborn

Eastern Raiders

Licence holder: Payneham Bowling Club

Current committee members: Richard Law, Wayne Lee, Kristeena Kirchner, Chris Flavel, Peter Marshall

Coaching panel: Richard Law (Head Coach), Wayne Lee, Kristeena Kirchner

Southern Blazers

Licence holder: Ascot Park Bowling Club

Current committee members: Mark Lampshire, Dennis Fox, Lyn Clissitt, Helen Schaedel, Sam Denton

Coaching panel: Mark Denton (Head Coach), Pat Cavallaro, Riina Bradbrook

Central Chargers

Licence holder: West Lakes Bowling Club

Current committee members: Kane Coulls, Allan Northcott

Coaching Panel: TJ Saunders (Head coach), Craig Mills


Want more information on the SA Super League? Click on the following link and follow the tabs for all the up to date information: https://www.bowlssa.com.au/sa-super-league-2/. Get behind your local franchise and support South Australia’s local talent.


Thanks to league sponsors City of Salisbury, West End and Sports Centre.