Big Three Days For Alexandrina Senior Supa Series

by Marketing on April 13, 2022

The 2022 Alexandrina Council Senior Supa Series kicked off this week with players from across the regions making their way to Strathalbyn Bowling Club for day one.

The players fought the grey skies and windy conditions to play some competitive bowls. The day’s winners all won four games.

The team of Sue Coultas (Lockley’s), Stephen Jones (Lockley’s), Steve Wright (Henley) and Geoff Coultas (Lockley’s) secured victory with +52 putting on a master class display of bowls.

In second place, the Strathalbyn team of Don Sheldon, Garry Milligan, Coralie Sheldon and Milton Kenniwell with +30.

Finishing with +10, the team of Isobel Early (Somerton), Faye Anderson (Port Noarlunga), Kym Johnson (Port Noarlunga) and Ian Lane (Port Noarlunga) taking out third place, to conclude the first day of the Alexandrina Senior Supa Series.

Teams headed to Goolwa and Encounter Bay for the second day of the competition.

The day’s winning teams came away with four wins each, with just one end the deciding factor between second and third place.

Our third place winners, the team of Julie James (Happy Valley), Deb Fry (Ascot Park), Ian James (Happy Valley) and Barry Fry (Ascot Park) with +42 and 29 ends up.

The Somerton team, Kari Heikkonen, Alan Jackson, Ray Whichello and Michael White narrowly took out second place with +42 and 30 ends up.

The combination of Greg McGregor (Edwardstown), Fiona McGregor (Hawthorn), Anne Onto (Hawthorn) and Terry Onto (Hawthorn) came away victorious with +50.

The third and final day was held at Port Elliot on Wednesday, which saw windy conditions for the final of the Senior Supa Series. All three teams came away with four wins for the day.

Ending the series victorious, the Streaky Bay team of Denise Stephens, Pam Edmunds, Rob Stephens and Cliff Edmunds with +53.

In second place, the team of Joe Conte (Lobethal), Lynton Keen (Marion), Neville Mansell (Lobethal) and Tony Treloar (Ascot Park) with +36.

In third place, the team of Russell Miller (Kensington Marryatville), Jeanette Hill (Kensington Marryatville), John Miller (Kensington Marryatville) and Lawrence Gherghetta (Hawthorn) with +17.

Bowls SA would like to thank the Alexandrina Council for their support of the event, along with all three host clubs for their fantastic hospitality on each of the days.

It was a great opportunity to explore the wonderful Alexandrina Council region and utilise the fantastic facilities on offer.