4 New Teams Through to the Next Round of the BPL Cup

by BowlsSA6 on August 21, 2020

What a full weekend of bowls we’ve had at the BPL Cup, with 36 teams entering across 3 Preliminary Rounds over 2 days at Wallaroo (Sat Aug 15), Rosewater and Christies Beach (Sun Aug 16).

The BPL Cup exists to strengthen the correlation between the bowls that viewers see on television and the format of bowls offered at clubs. The BPL Cup provides an opportunity for club-based teams to progress through various rounds to National Finals, to generally be played in parallel with the November leg of the BPL at Club Pine Rivers, Queensland. Due to COVID border closures, the national finals have currently been postponed until February in Moama. As part of the National Finals each year, the 16 national BPL Cup finalists teams receive an all-expenses-paid trip to Club Pine Rivers/Moama to compete in the BPL Cup National Finals, with the semi-finals live-streamed and the final broadcast LIVE on Fox Sports and Kayo Sports.

We kicked off with 10 teams at Wallaroo, with the lads from West Lakes (Saunders, Mills, Black) and the team from Moonta (S Eichenberger, C Eichenberger, Cavanagh) progressing to the next round last Saturday.

Sunday, we saw 16 teams go to battle at Christies Beach with Port Noarlunga (Jolly, K Moffatt, A Moffatt) and McLaren Vale (Dienelt, Wohling, Broadwood) progressing.

Also on Sunday, we saw 10 teams out at Rosewater with Rosewater (Hagan, Lemmey, Warnock) progressing alongside Lockleys (Halls, Katsivas, Ormston) who have kept their dream of a third straight national finals appearance alive.

A huge thank you to all teams for their efforts and to each host venue for such well supported events. Congratulations to all teams that have progressed.

Want to get involved? There’s still time to register for just $60/team (3-4 players). Head to https://www.bowls.com.au/…/national…/bplcup/bplcupvenues/ to register for the below events:

  • Torrensville – Aug 28, 6pm
  • Rosewater – Sept 6, 10am