2024 Australian Sides Championships Teams

by lucyt on May 27, 2024

South Australia has poised the 12 representatives to send to the ‘The Nationals’ for the Australian Sides Championships. Descending upon Club Tweed this October will include newly inducted Bowls SA Hall of Fame member Wayne Ruediger. Currently, Ruediger is sitting on 398 games and is set to break Ray Tume’s Games Played record of 405.

Featuring four debutants in the Alley Shield Campaign, the team is balanced with excitement and experience. Samual Denton, Stuart Forbes, Isaac Trenorden and the youngest member of the 2024 team Corey Hicks will earn their caps. Meanwhile, 2023 debutant Ben Bowman will remain in the side.

After winning the men’s singles gold medal at the IIBC World Under 25 Indoor Championships in Scotland, Nathan Black is once again a key addition to the team. Continuing with the accolades, Jono Voigt, the 2024 Champion of Champion singles winner and Will McPharlin, the 2023 State Singles Champion will represent the state once again.

Mitch Percy and Brett Davis will bring experience to the line up and shouldn’t be underestimated. Rounding off the 12 having played 158 games and being apart of the 2017 Alley shield winning team is Scott Thulborn.

After finishing sixth in their 2023 Marj Morris Trophy campaign the Women’s side is looking to use their experience to come out on top. One change has been made to the side with Tamzin Jenke earning her debut after winning the 2024 State Triples Championships.

The 2024 State Champions make their mark on this side with the inclusions of Sharon Cavanagh (State Fours), Sheridon Bodnar (State Triples) and Kate Argent-Bowden (State Mixed Pairs). The 2024 Champion of Champion singles winner, Karen Gatto, will also represent the state.

After a remarkable year winning the Australian Champion of Champions title, Laini McGorman will be looking to continue her success. Grace Moloney, Cathryn Greenslade, Katrina Green and Debbie Dennis will once again be McGorman’s teammates.

The youngest member of the side Evie Exton will be accompanied by Renata Callisto, the Women’s leading games played bowler with 153 games played.

Team composition will be decided over the coming months. A full release will be made public in September.

Nathan BlackHoldfast Bay
Ben BowmanGrange
Brett DavisAdelaide
Sam DentonAscot Park
Stuart ForbesNuriootpa
Corey HicksAdelaide
Will McPharlinPort Wakefield
Mitch PercyAscot Park
  Wayne Ruediger      Grange    
Scott ThulbornAdelaide
Isaac TrenordenWest Lakes
Jono VoigtAngaston
Kate Argent-BowdenHoldfast Bay
Sheridon BodnarAdelaide
Renata CallistoGoolwa
Sharon CavanaghMoonta Memorial Park
Debbie DennisPort Broughton
Evie ExtonMarion
Karen GattoWest Lakes
Katrina GreenKapunda
Cathryn GreensladeRiverton
Tamzin JenkePayneham
Laini McGormanAdelaide
Grace MoloneyArthurton

Click here for more information on the Australian Sides Championships.