Bowls Australia Photography By Paul A. Broben

2024 Australian Senior Sides Championships Teams

by lucyt on May 28, 2024

South Australia will field strong teams in the Australian Senior Sides Championships to be held at Club Tweed on October 12-15.

The Over 60’s Men’s state team will battle it out in attempt to bring home the John Dobbie AM trophy. Two new additions to the side this year will help them put their best foot forward, Ray Dienelt and Colin Watkins will represent South Australia for the first time. Whilst, Ash Halls returns to the side after playing in the 2019 championships.

Peter Gageler and Colin Harvey will lead the team in experience playing the most games in this side with 36 each. After the debut of Don Bennett, Robert Flavel and Gary Meekcoms in 2023, they are looking to build on this experience and improve their performances.

Rounding off the rest of the 2024 representative team is the key inclusions of Bob Scott, Garry Smith, Daryl Steinwedel and Anthony Treloar.

The Betty Collins OAM trophy will see a strong South Australian Over 60’s Women’s team take to the green. The 2023 best performed rink of the series members Chris Thulborn and Beth Quinlan will be looking to continue their success after winning all games last year. Newly inducted Bowls SA Life Member, Sandy Wallace will also make her mark upon Club Tweed.

Two new additions to the side this year, will see Jackie Field make her Over 60s debut and Gayle Steinwedel will represent SA for the first time. Shortly after being crowned Over 60s Women’s Pairs champions, Raelene Heitmann and Vicki Arbon will be team mates once again. Going against each other in the championship game Sue Coultas will now join the pair in this year’s sides competition.

Last season’s Women’s Fours State Champions Sue Hutchinson and Sue Maddern will put their best foot forward along with decorated bowlers Claire Eichenberger and Kerry Treloar.

A full release of team compositions will be made public in September.

Senior Men
Don BennettMoonta
Ray DieneltMcLaren Vale
Robert FlavelLockleys
Peter GagelerZinc Broken Hill
Ash HallsLockleys
Colin HarveyAscot Park
Gary MeekcomsModbury
Bob ScottBute
Garry SmithLaura
Daryl SteinwedelKingscote
Tony TreloarAscot Park
Colin WatkinsHawthorn
Senior Women
Vicki ArbonModbury
Sue CoultasLockleys
Claire Eichenberger      Berri    
Jackie FieldWest Lakes
Raelene HeitmannModbury
Sue HutchinsonHahndorf
Sue MaddernHahndorf
Beth QuinlanAscot Park
Gayle SteinwedelKingscote
Chris ThulbornAscot Park
Kerry TreloarBerri
Sandy WallaceAdelaide

Click here for more information on the Australian Senior Sides Championships.