2020 Trans Tasman Test Series: Open team announcement

by BowlsSA2 on December 12, 2019

Australian selectors have confirmed the 10-strong BCiB Australian Jackaroos contingent to take on New Zealand at next year’s instalment of the time-honoured Trans Tasman Test Series, to be staged in February as an ancillary event to the 2020 World Bowls Championships.
Following last month’s series whitewash by Australia, the two nations will again do battle on the Gold Coast in 2020 as players grapple for positions in their respective World Championships squads.

Selectors have opted for changes to both open teams, with Kelsey Cottrell reinstated in the coveted Singles post, with Ellen Ryan’s impressive 2019 Multi-Nations campaign enough to see her confirmed among the five, as lead in both the Triples and Fours.
Former Jackaroos captain Lynsey Clarke retains her place, set to partner Rebecca Van Asch in the Pairs as one of several re-shuffles in the teams’ disciplines, with dual Commonwealth Games gold medallist Carla Krizanic declaring herself unavailable for this event.

In the Men’s five, Wayne Ruediger returns to the fold in both the Triples and Fours after he too enjoyed a fruitful Multi-Nations, with the South Australian the only personnel change in the team.
A slight change in the combinations sees Corey Wedlock move to lead in the Pairs alongside Aaron Wilson, with Aaron Teys slotted back into the Triples and Fours to resume a deadly partnership with Aron Sherriff.

Regrettably, Bowls New Zealand has opted not to field Development or Over-60s teams in this event, but there is hope from both nations that all tiers of teams will return to the event in 2021.

Elsewhere, Bowls Australia will also send four pairings to the 2020 Stewart Buttar Burnside Pairs in New Zealand, accepting the annual invitation from the club to welcome Jackaroos teams.

2020 Trans Tasman Test Series
February 3-5, 2020
Gold Coast, QLD, Australia
Broadbeach, Helensvale & Musgrave Hill

Open Team
Singles: Kelsey Cottrell
Pairs: Lynsey Clarke, Rebecca Van Asch
Triples: Ellen Ryan, Kelsey Cottrell, Natasha Scott
Fours: Ellen Ryan, Lynsey Clarke, Rebecca Van Asch, Natasha Scott

Singles: Aaron Wilson
Pairs: Corey Wedlock, Aaron Wilson
Triples: Wayne Ruediger, Aaron Teys, Aron Sherriff
Fours: Wayne Ruediger, Corey Wedlock, Aaron Teys, Aron Sherriff

2020 Burnside Pairs
January 17-29, 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand
Burnside Bowling Club
Australian Jackaroos representatives:
Lynsey Clarke, Rebecca Van Asch
Corey Wedlock, Aaron Wilson
Genevieve Delves, Bolivia Millerick
Jayden Christie, Carl Healey


Bowls SA congratulate all athletes on their selection and pay special congratulations to Wayne Ruediger from the Grange Bowling Club for his selection.