2020/21 Champion of Champion Singles – Day One Results

by BowlsSA on April 17, 2021

The 2020/21 Champion of Champion Singles was played on Saturday April 17th with Men’s matches being played at the Morphett Vale and Modbury Bowling Clubs, whilst women’s matches were staged at Torrensville and Happy Valley Bowling Clubs.

After a fantastic day of three knockout rounds with some edge of your seat encounters, both the Men’s & Women’s event are now down to the final eight competitors.

In the Men’s event Adelaide look to continue their stranglehold over the competition with three time champion Scott Thulborn looking to back up the feats of teammate Adrian Green who claimed the title last year. Thulborn won’t have it easy with other talented players such as 2011-12 champion Will Mcpahrlin from Port Wakefield, this years MGA Country Carnival Singles winner Bob Scott from Bute, last years Champion of Champion Singles runner up Brenton Roberts from Strathalbyn and the winner of numerous state titles Nathan Pedersen of Somerton all looking to claim the title.

In the Women’s event the Adelaide Bowling club are also represented with State representative Laini Mcgorman looming as one of the favourites to take out the title but again there will be a host of challengers. State team mates Cath Greenslade from Riverton and Karen Gatto from West Lakes are due to face off in the quarter finals and the winner of that match will go close to the title, whilst in the top half of the draw former state representatives Amanda Raffen from Yacka and Debbie Dennis from Port Broughton will be keen to impress.

Both the Men’s & Women’s Champion of Champion Singles events will conclude tomorrow, Sunday April 18th at the Ascot Park Bowling Club with the quarter finals commencing at 9:30am followed by the Semi finals and Finals. Bowls SA will be hoping to live stream the Men’s final in the afternoon. Please come along and support the players in their quest for glory.

For full results from the Men’s event, please click here

For full results from the Women’s event, please click here